Drinking and driving can leave a lasting impact on you, your family and anyone else involved in the accident. Because of the severe ramifications that could occur, some states are becoming stricter to deter drunk driving hopefully. Kentucky has enacted new laws and practices that have made a significant change in the prevalence of people driving under the influence (DUI).
What changes has Kentucky made?
Kentucky has made several changes in the last couple of years to reduce their DUI fatality rate to one of the lowest in the country. One of the most significant alterations was requiring first-time offenders to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. Kentucky previously only had this requirement for repeat offenders. First-time DUI offenders do have the option of refusing to install the ignition interlock device. However, this will result in having your license suspended for a longer duration.
What consequences could you face after a DUI conviction?
With the passing of Kentucky’s new rule, lawmakers are hoping to reduce the number of repeat offenders in the state. There are still serious consequences for offenders, even if this is their first conviction. For a first offense, you can expect to attend an alcohol education program for 90 days. You could also have your license suspended for 30 to 120 days. The length of your license suspension could be longer if you refuse to install the ignition interlock device on your car.
For a second offense, you could be forced to attend an alcohol abuse treatment program for up to one year. A license suspension of 12 to 18 months is also likely.
Even though Kentucky’s DUI rates are decreasing, serious mistakes do still happen. If you need legal help, consider speaking with an experienced attorney.