If you get a DUI in Kentucky when you are under the age of 21, you will face harsh penalties because you are not only breaking DUI laws but also consumption laws. It is important that you understand what could potentially happen to you before you go to court for the charges. Underage drinking is taken very seriously by the law and the court, so it is essential that you prepare well ahead of your court date to try to avoid the most serious penalties.
According to the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, the legal blood alcohol content level for those under the age of 21 is much lower than the 0.08 BAC limit set for adults 21 and older. Your BAC limit is set at 0.02. This means that if an officer pulls you over and you take a breathalyzer test and the results show 0.02 or more, you will face DUI charges.
If this is your first offense and your BAC was under 0.08, then the possible penalties are a license suspension up to six months and either a fine up to $500 or 20 hours of community service. If your breathalyzer was 0.08 or more, then you face the same penalties as people over the age of 21.
A first-time offense with a high BAC could land you in jail for up to 30 days. Your license suspension could last up to 120 days. You will have to attend 90 days of alcohol abuse treatment. You also will pay a fine up to $500 and have to do up to 30 days of community service.