Kentucky prohibits driving under the influence of alcohol as well as illegal, prescription and over-the-counter medications that impair driving ability. You may receive jail time, fines, license suspension and mandatory substance abuse treatment.
If you face a court date for DUI in Kentucky, learn about the potential penalties for a conviction.
First DUI offense
If you have no prior DUIs, a conviction will result in:
- License suspension for 30 to 120 days
- 90 days in a state-approved substance abuse program
- 48 hours to 30 days in jail, or 30 days of community service
- $200 to $500 in fines
- Ignition interlock device at your own expense for six months upon license reinstatement
Second DUI offense
For a second offense within the same 10-year period, you could receive:
- License suspension for 12 to 18 months with forfeiture of license plates
- 12 months in a state-approved substance abuse program
- Seven days to six months in jail
- $350 to $500 in fines
- Community service
- Ignition interlock device at your own expense for 12 months upon license reinstatement
Subsequent DUI offenses
A third DUI conviction within the same 10-year period carries penalties of:
- License suspension for 24 to 36 months with forfeiture of license plates
- 12 months in a state-approved residential or inpatient substance abuse program
- 30 days to 12 months in jail
- $500 to $1,000 in fines
- Community service
- Ignition interlock device at your own expense for 30 months upon license reinstatement
For a fourth offense, the driver receives a 60-month license suspension with forfeiture of license plates.
Drivers can receive elevated penalties for:
- Speeding over 30 mph
- Driving in the wrong direction on the highway
- Causing serious injury or death in a DUI accident
- Having blood alcohol content above 0.15% at the time of arrest
- Receiving a DUI with a passenger younger than 12
In addition to these penalties, Kentucky drivers can receive a permanent license revocation for refusing to take a breath test during a traffic stop.